← All articles

SaaS

Chargebacks at a small SaaS: what a dispute costs and which ones you can win

October 25, 2026

Dispute fees at Stripe ($15 plus a $15 counter fee since June 2025), PayPal, Paddle, Lemon Squeezy and others; the dispute rates that get an account flagged (Stripe 0.75%, Paddle 0.65%, Visa VAMP 1.5%) and where 0.65% comes from; who really disputes; the reason codes and evidence that win, Compelling Evidence 3.0 included; the arithmetic of fighting, accepting or refunding a $20 charge; and a refund-first policy.

A man in glasses on the phone holds up a bank card, reading the number to someone

A customer on your $20 plan sees "STRIPE* SAASCO" on a card statement three months after signing up, doesn't recognise it, and taps "dispute" in the banking app. You haven't heard a word from them. The money and a $15 fee leave your Stripe balance the same day, and you have about a week to decide whether to fight. If you fight and lose, it costs you $50 on a $20 charge. If they had emailed you instead, a refund would have cost $20.

That gap is what this article is about: what a dispute costs at each processor in 2026, the dispute rates that get an account reviewed or closed, which disputes a small subscription business can actually win, and the refund-first policy that keeps the count low. All fees were read on the processors' own pages on 25 October 2026.

What a dispute costs, processor by processor

text
Processor               Fee when opened         Fee to contest              Back if you win?
----------------------  ----------------------  --------------------------  ---------------------------------------
Stripe US               $15                     $15 (since 17 Jun 2025)     Contest fee yes; opening fee never
Stripe UK / euro area   GBP 20 / EUR 20         GBP 20 / EUR 20             Same as US
Stripe Smart Disputes   $15                     None; 30% of amount if won  n/a (nothing extra on a loss)
PayPal (wallet)         $15 standard            none                        Yes; not charged under $30 at all
PayPal (high volume)    $30                     none                        No (ratio 1.5%+ and 100+ sales/3 months)
PayPal card processing  $20                     none                        No, charged whatever the outcome
Braintree               $15                     none                        Not stated
Paddle (MoR)            20 USD/GBP/EUR          none (Paddle fights it)     No; amount comes back, fee doesn't
Lemon Squeezy (MoR)     $15                     none (LS handles it)        Not stated; usually refunds the buyer
Shopify Payments US     $15                     none                        Yes
Square US               $0                      $0                          n/a

Two things on top of the table. Stripe keeps its processing fee (2.9% + 30c in the US) on any payment that is refunded or lost, so that is gone either way. And while a dispute is open on Stripe, the money is held and you can't refund it outside the dispute; the response window is usually 7 to 21 days and the card issuer decides within 60 to 75 days. Card holders can usually dispute up to 120 days after the payment.

The merchants of record behave differently. Paddle contests chargebacks itself with its own system and says seller evidence is "not required or accepted"; it doesn't fight a second round, and it keeps its fee even when it wins. Lemon Squeezy usually refunds the buyer and takes the refund plus $15 from your next payout. You trade control for not having to do the work.

The rates that get an account flagged

Every processor watches your dispute rate, and the card networks watch the processors. For a small SaaS the binding limit is almost always the processor's, not Visa's or Mastercard's, because the network programs have minimum counts you can't reach at a few thousand charges a month.

text
Who            Program                       Line                                    Notes
-------------  ----------------------------  --------------------------------------  ----------------------------------
Stripe         Its own review                0.75% dispute activity                  "Industry standard" for excessive;
                                                                                     spikes can trigger action earlier
Paddle         Seller terms                  0.65% of volume, by dollar value        Won disputes still count
Visa           VAMP (since Apr/Jun 2025)     1.5% and 1,500+ a month (from 1 Apr     2.2% until 31 Mar 2026; $8 per
                                             2026; fraud reports + disputes)         dispute above it
Mastercard     Excessive Chargeback (ECM)    1.5% and 100-299 a month                Fines $1,000 a month from month 2,
                                                                                     rising to $100,000
Mastercard     High Excessive (HECM)         3% and 300+ a month                     Fines up to $200,000 a month

The 0.65% figure people quote comes from Visa's old dispute monitoring program, retired in April 2025, where 0.65% with 75 disputes was the early-warning level. Visa no longer uses it, but Paddle kept it as its own limit, and it's a sensible target for anyone: below it, nobody is asking questions.

Three counting rules catch people out. Won disputes count as much as lost ones in every one of these rates. Mastercard divides this month's chargebacks by last month's transactions, regardless of refund or outcome. And under Visa's program a refund issued after a fraud report doesn't take the fraud report off your record; a payment that is reported as fraud and then disputed counts twice.

Who actually disputes

Not mostly criminals. Mastercard's 2025 State of Chargebacks report, a survey of 840 mid-sized and large merchants, puts fraud at about 45% of merchants' chargeback volume: 24% stolen cards and 21% first-party fraud, the customer who made the purchase and disputes it anyway. Another 16% were low-value write-offs and 38% weren't fraud at all: cancellations that didn't stick, charges that weren't recognised, duplicates. Visa's own page says friendly fraud is around 20% of fraud disputes, up to 30% for big online merchants. (The "75% of chargebacks are friendly fraud" line you'll see in vendor blogs has no Visa source we could find.)

For subscriptions specifically, the same report puts the average chargeback at $69, lower than any other category it measured. Mastercard also found that in 75% of disputes the customer went straight to the bank without contacting the merchant first. That is the number to design against: most of your disputes are people who would have taken a refund if asking you had been easier than tapping a button in their bank's app.

Which disputes you can win

Mid-sized and large US merchants contest 54% of their chargebacks and win about 54% of those, by their own account in the Mastercard survey. We found no reliable win rate for SaaS on its own; vendor figures for digital goods contradict each other. What decides a case is whether your evidence fits the reason code the bank used. These are the codes a subscription business sees, with the evidence Stripe's guide lists for each.

text
Code                 What the customer says                Evidence that wins
-------------------  ------------------------------------  ------------------------------------------------------
Visa 10.4            "I didn't make this" (card absent)    Prior undisputed payments, same IP or device; AVS/CVV
                                                           match; terms accepted; Compelling Evidence 3.0
Visa 13.2            "I cancelled"                         Logs showing no cancellation or a later one; logins and
                                                           usage after the claimed date; the renewal terms agreed
Visa 13.1            "I never got it"                      Login records and usage timestamps; emails
Visa 12.6            "Charged twice / paid another way"    Logs showing separate charges for separate periods
Visa 13.5            Free trial turned into a charge       Trial terms, the reminder email, the cancel link
Mastercard 4837      No authorisation                      3D Secure proof; known IP or device; AVS/CVV
Mastercard 4841      Cancelled recurring / trial           Opt-in to auto-renewal; no cancellation before billing;
                                                           usage after the charge
Mastercard 4853      Doesn't work as described             Product description and terms matching what was delivered

The strongest tool for the first row is Visa's Compelling Evidence 3.0, in force since 15 April 2023. If the same card paid you at least twice, between 120 and 365 days before the dispute, without fraud reports, and at least two of user ID, IP address, shipping address and device ID match (one of them the IP or device), liability moves back to the bank. For a subscription that's easy to meet: a customer in month seven with the same login and laptop. Stripe finds the qualifying payments and fills in the evidence automatically, and through Verifi Order Insight a qualifying case can be blocked before it becomes a dispute at all, for $15 in the US, with nothing added to your dispute rate. It's not a guaranteed win; the bank can still challenge it once.

3D Secure helps less than people expect. It moves fraud liability to the bank on the payment that was authenticated, not on non-fraud claims like "I cancelled", and renewal charges on a saved card are usually exempt from authentication, so by our reading of Stripe's documentation they don't carry the shift. Visa's 2020 rules for free trials are worth following to the letter: a reminder at least seven days before the trial ends with an easy way to cancel, online cancellation without a phone call, and the word "trial" in the descriptor of the first paid charge. A 13.5 dispute against a business that did all three is hard for the customer to win.

Fight, accept or refund: the arithmetic at $20

A SaaS on Stripe US with 1,000 customers at $20 a month: here is what one charge going wrong costs, compared with a sale that went through.

text
What happens                               Revenue lost   Fees lost              Total
-----------------------------------------  -------------  ---------------------  ------
Refund when the customer asks               $20            -                      $20
Visa RDR auto-refund (before a dispute)     $20            $15                    $35
Mastercard/Ethoca auto-refund               $20            $29                    $49
Accept the dispute                          $20            $15                    $35
Contest by hand and lose                    $20            $15 + $15              $50
Contest by hand and win                     -              $15                    $15
Smart Disputes win                          $6 (30%)       $15                    $21
Smart Disputes loss                         $20            $15                    $35
PayPal wallet dispute, lost / won           $20 / -        $0 (under $30)         $20 / $0
Paddle chargeback, lost / won               $20 / -        $20                    $40 / $20

At the 54% win rate from the Mastercard survey, contesting by hand costs 0.54 x $15 + 0.46 x $50 = $31.10 on average, against $35 for accepting: a saving of $3.90 per dispute before your time. The break-even win rate is 43%, and every dollar of your time pushes it up about three points; at $15 of time per case you'd need to win 86% to come out ahead. Smart Disputes works out at $27.44 with no work, which makes it the default for most small accounts once Stripe turns it on for you.

Over a year, at five disputes a month: accepting all 60 costs $2,100; fighting all of them $1,866 plus the hours; Smart Disputes $1,646. Had those 60 customers been refunded when they first got in touch, $1,200, with nothing on your dispute rate. On this business Stripe's 0.75% line is 7.5 disputes a month and Paddle's 0.65% is $130 of chargebacks, 6.5 of them. Five a month is already close.

A refund-first policy

The cheapest dispute is the one that never gets filed, and nearly all the levers are on your side of the counter.

text
1. Make the statement descriptor say who you are: your product name, not your company's
   legal name or a processor prefix. Add a support URL or phone where the card allows.
2. Put cancel in the account page, one click, no phone call, no survey you can't skip.
3. Send a renewal reminder 7 days before an annual renewal and 2-3 days before a monthly one
   (Stripe's own checklist); 7 days before a trial ends, with the cancel link (Visa's rule).
4. Refund on request, no argument, for anyone who asks within a stated window (say, 14 days
   after a charge) and any charge they say they don't recognise.
5. Refund early fraud warnings on small charges: Stripe says about 40% of them turn into
   disputes; below roughly the dispute fee, refunding is cheaper than waiting.
6. Turn on Visa RDR with a rule for small amounts: $15 to auto-refund, and it doesn't count
   toward your dispute rate. Leave Ethoca ($29) off below about $30.
7. Fight only when the evidence fits the code: CE 3.0 on fraud claims, logins after the
   claimed cancellation on 13.2/4841, usage history on 13.1/4855.

In the US, the FTC's 2024 click-to-cancel rule was thrown out by the Eighth Circuit on 8 July 2025, days before it took effect, and the FTC restarted the process in March 2026 with no proposed rule yet. That doesn't free you to make cancelling hard: the 2010 Restore Online Shoppers' Confidence Act still requires clear terms, express consent and a simple way to stop recurring charges, about 30 states have their own auto-renewal laws, and every obstacle in the cancel flow turns into a 13.2 dispute you'll probably lose.

If your product has a free trial, the trial design shapes the dispute rate too: a card-up-front trial converts more people who forgot, and those are the disputes. Our free trial or free plan article has the conversion numbers for each model. Fees are one line of a subscription's costs; the other big one for US sellers is in sales tax on software subscriptions.

Free plan, trial without a card, trial with a card or reverse trial: see paying customers, what free users cost and cost per paying customer over 12 months from your own numbers. Runs in your browser.

Open the trial or free plan calculator

Sources

Fees: Stripe US pricing, UK and Ireland; Stripe's June 2025 dispute pricing update; how disputes work; Smart Disputes; Stripe on refunded payment fees; PayPal business fees (updated 1 Oct 2026) and user agreement (14 Sep 2026); Braintree fees; Paddle on chargebacks; Lemon Squeezy refunds and chargebacks; Shopify chargeback fees; Square disputes.

Thresholds: Visa VAMP fact sheet; Checkout.com on VAMP changes and fees; Checkout.com on the old VDMP (Apr 2023); Stripe on monitoring programs and measuring disputes.

Who disputes and win rates: Mastercard 2025 State of Chargebacks; Mastercard on the true cost of a chargeback; Mastercard on coordination (Oct 2026); Visa on friendly fraud.

Evidence and rules: Stripe reason codes and evidence; Visa Compelling Evidence 3.0 merchant readiness (Mar 2023) and Stripe's CE 3.0 support; Stripe dispute prevention; 3D Secure flow and SCA exemptions; Visa subscription rules for trials (Sep 2019); Stripe Radar pricing; Latham on the click-to-cancel ruling; FTC negative option rule and March 2026 notice; Jones Day (May 2026).